Explore MIDI Effects in Live – free workshop 27th April

Mel-27th-April-CT-logo-updated.001

This workshop is part of a series of monthly free live events about MIDI organised by the Music Hackspace 

Date & Time: Tuesday 27th April 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 1pm NYC / 10am LA

Level: Beginner

Ableton Live offers a vast playground of musical opportunities to create musical compositions and productions. Live's native MIDI FX provides a range of tools to allow the composer and producer to create ideas in a myriad of ways. Max For Live complements these tools and expands musical possibilities. In this workshop you will creatively explore and deploy a range of MIDI FX in a musical setting. This workshop aims to provide you with suitable skills to utilise the creative possibilities of MIDI FX in the Ableton Live environment. 

Session Learning Outcomes

By the end of this session a successful student will be able to:

  • Identify and deploy MIDI FX
  • Explore native and M4L MIDI FX in Live
  • Render the output of MIDI FX into MIDI clips for further manipulation
  • Apply MIDI FX to create novel musical and sonic elements

Session Study Topics

  • Using MIDI FX
  • Native and M4L MIDI FX
  • Rendering MIDI FX outputs
  • Creatively using MIDI FX

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A web cam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • Access to a copy of Live Suite with M4L (i.e. trial or full license)


About the workshop leader

Mel is a London based music producer, vocalist and educator.

She spends most of her time teaching people how to make music with Ableton Live and Push. When she's not doing any of the above, she makes educational content and helps music teachers and schools integrate technology into their classrooms. She is particularly interested in training and supporting female and non-binary people to succeed in the music world.



Creative MIDI in Max and Max For Live – 4-part liv...
Create with MPE in Live 11